Dr. Manuel L. Roxas

The first President of the National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP), the Executive Secretary who served the longest, and a former legislator of S&T and the arts, will receive the NRCP Posthumous Award during the council's 85th Founding Anniversary on December 10, 2018, Monday, at the Philippine International Convention Center, Pasay City.

Through their great contributions to the council, Dr. Manuel Luz Roxas, Charter Member and First NRCP President (1933 to 1937), Dr. Patrocinio B. Valenzuela, first and longest serving Executive Secretary (1933 to 1972), and Senator Edgardo Javier Angara, Legislator of S&T and the Arts and NRCP Member, Division I (Governmental, Educational, and International Policies), will be the first to receive the NRCP Posthumous awards.

Seventy (70) years after he died in 1948, NRCP's first Chairman Manuel L. Roxas, will receive the Posthumous Institutional Service Award in recognition of his initiative and support that led to the creation of the NRCP on December 8, 1933 through Act 4120 (An Act Creating a National Research Council of the Philippine Islands for the Promotion of Research Work Along Scientific Lines). He was a charter member, served as chairman for four years, and later on considered as the "Father of the National Research Council of the Philippines".

Dr. Patrocinio B. Valenzuela

Dr. Patrocino B. Valenzuela, on the other hand, will also receive the Posthumous Institutional Service Award for being the longest serving Executive Secretary of the Council since its creation in 1933 until 1972. His service witnessed the endeavors of the Council from pre-war to post war. He was also instrumental in the creation of the Commission on Volcanology (COMVOL), now known as the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS). After 46 years since the council's creation, the NRCP's very first building was named after Executive Secretary Patrocinio B. Valenzuela which is called the "Valenzuela Hall".

Senator Edgardo Javier Angara

Senator Angara passed away on May 13, 2018 and will receive the Posthumous National Service Award in recognition of his dedication and enduring legacy on the promotion and development of science, technology and innovation, and multidisciplinary research to support national policymaking, education reform, and the people's right to education, among others. Senator Angara was named "Basic Research Champion" for advocating basic research in several NRCP events and for promoting and funding basic research projects.

The descendants of the posthumous awardees will receive the plaques of recognition.


Other News from NCR

Government moving to build a local train industry
Posted: Friday, July 19, 2019
Science Secretary Fortunato de la Peña and Education Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones share a light moment at the opening of the 2019 National Science & Technology Week (NSTW) celebration on Wedn...   read full story

10-year deal to boost PH-US scientific collaboration
Posted: Thursday, July 18, 2019
Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato dela Peña (left) and US Ambassador to the Philippines Sung Kim (right) sign an agreement on scientific and technological cooperation at the close of the 8t...   read full story

Phivolcs launches app on natural hazards, risk assessment
Posted: Wednesday, July 17, 2019
DOST Secretary Fortunato dela Peña MANILA-- Banking on a vision to become the central source of information for accurate and efficient hazards assessment in the country, the Department of Science a...   read full story

2019 National Science Technology Week to focus on S&T’s role in attaining sustainable development goals
Posted: Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Do you want to know the breakthroughs in science and technology (S&T) in the Philippines? You may learn about these at 2019 National Science and Technology Week (NSTW), which the Department of ...   read full story