Ebarvia wins 2019 DEN award; first awardee from PHL

Filipino Assistant Scientist Dr. Benilda S. Ebarvia was awarded the 2019 Developing Economies National Metrology Institute (DEN) Award in rites at Le Montage in Sydney, Australia, on December 4, 2019. Ebarvia was the first DEN winner for the Philippines.

She bested others from 16 countries, including Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, North Korea, Pakistan, Zimbabwe, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.

Dr. Toshiyuki Takatsuji, of the NMI of Japan and chairman of the Asia Pacific Metrology Programme (APMP), handed the award to Ebarvia.

Ebarvia is the head of the Metrology in Chemistry (MiC) Laboratory of the National Metrology Laboratory (NML) of the Industrial Technology Development Institute-Department of Science and Technology (ITDI-DOST).

She received the award for having played a  key  role  in  establishing  the MiC lab at NML-ITDI-DOST, and raising funds for its operations, including raising awareness of metrology among stakeholders in the country.

However, she is best represented by her work in developing the first reference materials (RMs) in the Philippines. RMs are means to confirm methods and to assess accuracy of measurement results for use by measurement laboratories to analyze, for example, content of properties in foodstuffs, e.g., aflatoxin in milk powder, and aflatoxins B and G in peanut butter products, among others.

These are useful also in proving what makes up a particular food, its micronutrients, or the extent of its authenticity.

Further, Ebarvia’s RM work supports results of measurement laboratories to ensure that local commodities can pass stringent international trade standards on food quality and control.

APMP established the DEN Award in November 2010. It aims to highlight contributions and to recognize outstanding achievements of an individual from APMP’s 17 member-economies  in  advancing  metrology efforts  in  their  country and within the Asia-Pacific region.

It  gives the award  to  only  one  individual every year, with APMP reserving the right to declare no winner within an award year.

AMGuevarra/S&T Media Service

Source: https://businessmirror.com.ph/2020/01/12/ebarvia-wins-2019-den-award-first-awardee-from-phl/

Other News from NCR

Cebuano inventor develops sustainable armchair for schools
Posted: Friday, March 13, 2020
Pedro Delantar of Nature’s Legacy of Cebu explains the features of the armchair for schools made from bamboo at the National Invention Contest and Exhibit 2020 held earlier this month at the SMX Con...   read full story

DOST postpones 'Handa Pilipinas' expo
Posted: Wednesday, March 11, 2020
MANILA – Amid concerns on the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19), the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) will postpone "Handa Pilipinas", a showcase of innovation in disaster risk reductio...   read full story

PH-made nanosatellites, tech-infused thunderstorm project now underway
Posted: Wednesday, March 11, 2020
High-impact technologies — from understanding lightning and thunderstorms to the first Filipino-made nanosatellites – are expected to be launched and deployed this year, according to the Department of...   read full story

DOST urges inventors to turn works to innovation
Posted: Monday, March 09, 2020
INVENTION TO INNOVATION. Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato dela Peña checks one of the entries in the National Invention Contest & Exhibits (NICE), held in SMX Aura, BGC, Taguig City on Ma...   read full story